Store | Donate | Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Join COVD
About COVD
Share |

The College of Optometrists in Vision Development (COVD) is a non-profit, international membership association of eye care professionals including optometrists, optometry students, and vision therapists. Established in 1970, COVD provides board certification for optometrists and vision therapists who are prepared to offer state-of-the-art services in:

Behavioral and developmental vision care

Vision therapy

Neuro-optometric rehabilitation

These specialized vision care services develop and enhance visual abilities and correct many vision problems in infants, children, and adults. Vision care provided by all COVD members is based on the principle that vision can be developed and changed. Infants are not born with fully developed visual abilities and that good vision is developed through a learned process.

The COVD International Examination and Certification Board process includes a rigorous evaluation of the eye care professional's knowledge and abilities in providing developmental and behavioral vision care for patients. Optometrists who successfully complete their certification process are Board Certified in Vision Development and Vision Therapy and are designated Fellows of COVD (FCOVD) . Vision therapists are certified to work with COVD Fellows as Certified Optometric Vision Therapists (COVT).

Associate members of COVD are practicing optometrists who have not yet completed the Fellowship process. COVD associates are required to participate in professional continuing education to enhance their knowledge and skills in behavioral vision care.

Optometry Students and Residents who are interested in a career that includes vision therapy can also join COVD for free to learn more about this unique and growing area of practice.

Our Mission

Improving lives by advancing excellence in optometric vision therapy and rehabilitation through education and board certification.

Our Vision

To drive progress through clinical excellence and research in developmental vision care, optometric vision therapy, and rehabilitation. This will result in wider adoption of optometric vision therapy and increased recognition of its integral role in enhancing learning, productivity, and overall quality of life.

Our Core Values

A Welcoming and Inclusive Caring Community

by Martin Kane, OD, FCOVD & Robert M. Wold, OD, FCOVD
by Robert M. Wold, OD, FCOVD
Leonard Press, OD, FAAO, FCOVD


US State Coordinators

Alabama – Sharon Snider, OD, FCOVD Montana – Sarah Hill, OD, FCOVD
Alasksa – Edward Godnig, OD, FCOVD Nebraska – Kerri Dietz Pillen, OD, FCOVD
Arizona – Howard Bacon, OD, FCOVD Nevada – Becky Humphreys, OD
Arkansas – Wanda Vaughn, OD, FCOVD New Hampshire – Amy Dee Pruszenski, OD, FCOVD
California – Susan Kim-Laubach, OD, FCOVD New Jersey – S. Moshe Roth, OD, FCOVD
Colorado – Leanna Dudley, OD, FCOVD New Mexico – Steve Glover, OD
Connecticut – Phyllis Liu, OD, FCOVD New York – Bradley Meltzer, OD, FCOVD
Delaware – Don Blackburn, OD North Carolina – Genia Beasley, OD, FCOVD
Dist. of Columbia – Jeffrey Kraskin, OD North Dakota – Steve Agnes, OD
Florida – Pauline Buck, OD, FCOVD Ohio – Alex Andrich, OD, FCOVD
Georgia – Nadira Shadeed, OD, FCOVD Oklahoma – Ralph Latimer, OD, FCOVD
Hawaii – Carole Hong, OD, FCOVD Oregon – Macson Lee, OD, FCOVD
Idaho – Randall Cummings, OD Pennsylvania – Robin Sapossnek, OD, FCOVD
Illinois – Robert Marini, OD, FCOVD Rhode Island – Phyllis Liu, OD, FCOVD
Indiana – Mary VanHoy, OD, FCOVD Puerto Rico – Ana Pico, OD, FCOVD
Iowa – Beth Triebel, OD, FCOVD South Carolina – Jennifer Zolman, OD, FCOVD
Kansas – Julie Ann Toon, OD, FCOVD South Dakota – Angela Gulbranson, OD
Kentucky – Daniel Bowersox, OD, FCOVD Tennessee – Heather McBryar, OD, FCOVD
Louisiana – Susan Jong, OD, FCOVD Texas – Charles Shidlofsky, OD, FCOVD
Maine – Amy Dee Pruszenski, OD, FCOVD Utah – Scott Kowallis, OD
Maryland – Stanley Appelbaum, OD, FCOVD Vermont – Amy Dee Pruszenski, OD, FCOVD
Massachusetts – Cathy Stern, OD, FCOVD Virginia – John Dresely, Jr., OD, FCOVD
Michigan – Danna Haba, OD, FCOVD Washington – Carrie Murphy, OD, FCOVD
Minnesota – Jill Schultz, OD, FCOVD West Virginia – Gary Veronneau, OD, FCOVD
Mississippi – Susan Jong, OD, FCOVD Wisconsin – Kate Buffington, OD, FCOVD
Missouri – Lisa Dibler, OD Wyoming – Jacee Cotton, OD, FCOVD
International Chapters